Winners announced: 2018 RAMMY Awards, Washington, D.C.

And the 2018 RAMMYS winners are…

The restaurant industry in the Greater Washington, D.C. market has shown exceptional wisdom, courage, perseverance and raw talent in achieving its status as a food destination. This is years in the making and the best and brightest in foodservice leadership, business acumen and creativity were gathered the evening of June 10th to celebrate this achievement and usher in new kings and queens in the D.C. culinary landscape. The 2018 RAMMYS produced exceptional winners plucked from an impressive list of the local industry’s elite.

Even as Bon Appetit was naming D.C. the “Restaurant City of the Year” in 2017. D.C.’s foodservice industry already knew they had arrived as a foodie destination as a result of unparalleled entrepreneurship and unconstrainted culinary creativity.

Gathered together at the Walter E. Convention Center were amazingly intelligent and beautiful people that stood as one showing unity, and at the post-award celebration, also engaging in well-deserved revelry. The 2018 RAMMYS winners were excited, but not surprised, as their names were called. Although humbled, they were aware of their achievement.

How did we get here? The D.C. market is becoming the place to experience cuisine at its best. It’s a hotbed of design, concept and culinary innovation. But Metro-D.C. isn’t just for foodies—it’s also a great place for restaurant and culinary innovators to realize their dreams and build businesses.

RAMW President and CEO Kathy E. Hollinger started off the award ceremeony in style and offered up several reasons why the industry should stand together against the D.C. ballot initiative 77. D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser was also on hand to offer praise of the local restaurant industry and provide a call-to-action to those working for restaurants who live in the city to register to vote.

The ceremony also offered a sentimental tribute to the late Anthony Bourdain, host of CNN’s “Parts Unknown,” and a celebrated chef and author, in addition to the memories of restaurant leaders that had passed in 2018. To add to the global reflections of this D.C.-market’s restaurant leadership, the

See the full list of 2018 RAMMYS winners and stay tuned for our YouTube coverage of the event on Swizzle Chill TV being released during this summer. Also, check our RAMMYS page for new updates.

Exceptional Leadership & Impact Award

Chef José Andrés and (his wife) Patricia Fernandez de la Cruz

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year

The Daily Dish

8301 Grubb Road, Silver Spring, MD, 20910

Upscale Brunch of the Year

Osteria Morini

301 Water Street Southeast, Washington, D.C. 20003

Casual Brunch of the Year

Ambar Capitol Hill

523 8th Street Southeast, Washington, D.C. 20003

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year

Moby Dick House of Kabob (several locations)

1300 Connecticut Avenue, Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20036

Cocktail Program of the Year

Espita Mezcaleria

523 8th Street Southeast, Washington, D.C. 20003

Owen's Ordinary: Swizzle Chill MagazineBeer Program of the Year

Owen’s Ordinary

1820 Trade Street, North Bethesda, Md. 20852

Wine Program of the Year

Bourbon Steak

2800 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20007

Employee of the Year

Andrea Tateosian

Urbana, 2121 P St Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20037

Manager of the Year

Heidi Minora

Commissary, 1443 P Street Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20005

Arel7 Foodservice: advert

Service Program of the Year

Minibar by José Andrés, 855 E Street Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20004

Pastry Chef of the Year

Tiffany MacIsaac

Buttercream Bakeshop, 1250 9th Street Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20001

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

Gerald Addison and Chris Morgan

Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen, 1346 T St NW, Washington, DC 20009

Maydan, 1346 Florida Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Restaurateur of the Year

Ari Gejdenson, Mindful Restaurants

Casual Restaurant of the Year

Ivy City Smokehouse Tavern, 1356 Okie Street Northeast, Washington, D.C. 20002

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year


442 Maple Ave East, Vienna, Va. 22180

New Restaurant of the Year


423 8th Street Southeast, Washington, D.C. 20003

RAMMYS18 Masseria announcement: Swizzle Chill Magazine
Tarver King of the Restaurant at Patowmac Farm announces Formal Fine Dining winner.

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year


1340 4th Street Northeast, Washington, D.C. 20002

Chef of the Year

Amy Brandwein

Centrolina, 974 Palmer Alley Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20001


Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year

Right Proper Brewing Company

24 T Street Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20001

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year

USI Insurance Services

Previously-announced awards:

Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement

Daniel Coleman

Milestone Restaurant of the Year

Tony and Joe’s Seafood Place

3000 K Steet Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20007

Catch our upcoming videos of the event and winner interviews on YouTube and Instagram.